Evan Gearing's Photography Exposition

Texas Capitol From SoCo #2

Lightroom 4 Quirks

I got Lightroom for Christmas!  Woohoo!  It looks like a pretty powerful tool to say the least!  Luckily, I also got Scott Kelby’s Lightroom 4 book to help figure this behemoth out!  So far so good!  However, there’s one thing in his book that he does not really address and that’s TIFF + JPGs.  You see, when I edit a photo, I like to save it as a TIFF, then watermark it and save it again as a JPG to put out on the web.  I keep the same file-name, but a new file gets created with the .jpg extension.  However, Lightroom wants to organize it so both the TIFF and JPG files are just one, meaning the JPG is a “sidecar” file or a TIFF + JPG.  I don’t like this at all and I can’t seem to find a way to turn this off, unless you do this during your import settings.  So, what I had to do was create a whole new folder just for jpgs and move the file in there with Windows Explorer and then import that.  There’s got to be a better way than this?  Anyone out there have any ideas?

Texas Capitol From SoCo #2

Here’s a picture I took back in April of last year..  It’s a shot of the Texas Capitol from the hill up on South Congress Ave.  I took it early in the morning so there wouldn’t be much traffic, especially since I decided to take this in the middle of the road!  This is a companion to another shot I took where I had zoomed out a bit further…

4 responses

  1. Sweet shot Evan, and Happy New Year! I wish I could help you with Lightroom. I do things a bit different, I only use LR for my RAW organization, and like you, I used to save both TIFF and JPEG, only to folders on HD's, not imported to LR. That's just how I got comfortable, probably not the most efficient, but I know where everything is. I recently switched to only saving as JPEGS if they are finished images, the disc space was killing me saving both, and I never went back to a TIFF file anyway. Especially now that I am shooting FF and the files are huge I would need a bank of HD's to save both. Anyway, sorry I was not more help, Happy New Year

    January 3, 2013 at 9:40 pm

  2. I have not looked at your specific issue, but out of old habit, I usually add an extra one letter suffix (s) such as finename-s.jpg for similar files. The slight name difference seems to keep things separate in Lightroom. Probably not the solution you want.

    January 4, 2013 at 5:53 am

  3. Thanks, Mike. Yes, I'm thinking I may have to do something similar. Not sure I want to manage everything in Lightroom anymore, but it would be nice. I thought it would be a tad bit better even though it does a lot of great stuff. It is good for converting raws to dngs and for also adding metadata or exif info to the files when I'm ready to export. I also plan on going FF relatively soon and I know I'll need the space as well! Thanks for your input!

    January 5, 2013 at 4:31 am

  4. Not so much, but it is worth thinking about! I appreciate your input and if I come to some sort of flow that works for me, I'll put it out here! Thanks again!

    January 5, 2013 at 4:32 am

Leave a comment